An Open Letter To ‘Friday Night Lights’

by Amy Lindorff

Dear Friday Night Lights (and Dusty maybe don’t read this until you have finished watching at least season 3),

This past Thursday I watched The Office (are TV shows italicized like book titles? Do I care right now? No? Good.) for the first time since season 4 ruined EVERYTHING. It was going fine, a few laughs here and there, but nothing special. Then something magical happened. A promo for season 5 of you came on.

I HAD NO IDEA.

I had heard a few things a while back that you were going to be coming back for a final season, but didn’t know that April 15th would be the day. And what a day it was.

See, I’m not sure if you remember our brief meeting in early February. At the time, I was finishing my last term of college at the University of Oregon. Seasons 1-4 of you and I spent midterms week together. It was honestly the most intense relationship I have ever had with a television show. I watched you all weekend, and then all the time when I wasn’t at work (HI, RPM!!!!!) or in class or asleep. I did absolutely no homework or reading so deep was my instant love for you. (Sub-Open Letter To My Mom: I still got a 3.56 GPA so you aren’t allowed to be mad and/or disappointed. Love, Amy) Ecopoetry could WAIT – the town of Dillon had real problems going on that I needed to see through to their resolution. Because television is obviously a real-time interactive thing and it was essential that I personally make sure that Matt Seracen was going to be okay.

I’m still not really sure how to accurately describe my infatuation with you. Your characters are rich and developed and your stories are always compelling and seem soooo reallllll (except for when Landry killed that guy and got away with it. I mean, what?). It also doesn’t hurt that Tim Riggins is a thing.

So imagine my excitement when I learned that within 24 hours, I would be able to watch a brand new episode of you. And it had everything! Buddy Garrity Buddy Garrity-ing, Tim Riggins being all broken and sad, Coach Taylor being awesome, Tammi trying to save the world one Dillon teenager at a time, some classic Grandma Seracen moments, even a Crucifictorious (I am not even trying to spell that correctly) concert! You, Friday Night Lights (again, I am just italicizing away over here, sorry if it’s supposed to be quotes or something), are perfect and always will be.

Except that maybe I wouldn’t mind if there was less Billy Riggins involved in all this. And by maybe I mean: definitelypositivelymakehimgoaway.

Love, Amy

PS: I laugh audibly every time Coach Taylor calls Landry “Lance.” EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. I have no idea why I find that so hilarious, but I do.

