An Open Letter To Miley Cyrus

by Amy Lindorff

Dear Miley,

I hear you got a new tat. How exciting! It’s apparently an equals sign and a caption about all love being equal. That’s wonderful. Good to know you love the gays and all other forms of love. E says that this new one is “symbolically” located on your ring finger, but based on the picture it looks like it is the ring finger of your right hand. I was under the impression that most of the marriage symbolism happened on the left hand, but maybe I’m wrong. In any case, the equals sign appears subtle and meaningful which makes me not hate it as much as I hate some celebrity tattoo choices (and, let’s be honest, the tattoo choices of most of the people I see walking around town).

But that same article on E raises some troubling points for me. You also have a heart, a cross, ‘LOVE’ on your ear (whaaat?), an anchor (had no idea you were in the Navy!), ‘Just Breathe’ on your ribcage, and, for the big finish, a dream catcher on your torso. Yuck, yuck, yuck.

Love, Amy

P.S. I’m sure Hannah Montana was great, but I could never really pay attention because of all the bright colors of the set and wardrobe and the way the entire cast would scream their lines.

