An Open Letter To The Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival

by Amy Lindorff

Dear Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival,

It’s kind of amazing to me that you exist. So many of my favorite people and all for free! Let’s review:

Ruthie Foster, Hugh Laurie, M. Ward, Steve Earle, Kris Kristofferson, Ralph Stanley, Justin Townes Earle, Gomez, The Civil Wars, Emmylou Harris, Gillian Welch, Dave Rawlings, Robert Plant & Band of Joy, Frank Fairfield, Earl Scruggs, Patty Griffin.

I would gladly pay a decent amount of money to see any of these people individually and the fact that I can see them all for free in a few short weeks is baffling to me. I can’t believe it is true. There must be some kind of catch, like parking costs a thousand dollars or the only hotels nearby are more than I can afford. If there isn’t, I’m going to spend the next three weeks convincing anyone I can think of to go with me. Hope to see you soon.

Love, Amy

