An Open Letter To Think Out Loud

by Amy Lindorff

Dear Think Out Loud,

Hi! I’ve missed you! The summer of 2008, I worked for the Hillsboro School District as part of the “Summer Assistant Maintenance Crew” which meant I was a janitor’s assistant for 8 hours a day, 5 days a week. It was both misery and kind of awesome. Misery because I can now say that I spent a week and a half of my life painting an elementary school boy’s bathroom; awesome because if I took a book up onto the school roof, the janitor wouldn’t be able to find me for at least a couple of hours and I could get paid to read in peace. I still have all my library checkout receipts from that summer and it is quite an impressive list.

When I wasn’t hiding on the roof, I was listening to NPR on the radio that the janitor let me use. Every morning I would listen to you and it would make things somewhat easier. Moving all the furniture in a classroom from one side to the other so that the janitor could shampoo the carpets went much more quickly when you guys were discussing interesting things. Now that I live in LA, I get the show as a podcast, but never really have time to listen and when I do, it’s just not quite the same. I wish I could still get OPB in my car down here.

It looks like things are going well for you though! Apparently, you have been chosen to announce the National Book Award Finalists on October 12th. This is the first time this will be happening both in the Pacific Northwest and on public radio. Congratulations. I hope this leads to more and more exposure and recognition for you because you really are one of the highest quality radio shows I’ve heard.

Love, Amy

