An Open Letter To Dorothy’s Ruby Red Slippers

by Amy Lindorff

Dear Dorothy’s Ruby Red Slippers From The Wizard of Oz,

There are four known surviving pairs of you and I have seen one! It was one of the more significant experiences of my childhood. You came to Portland when I was six (or maybe five or seven or four, I have no idea but my mom probably knows) as part of the Smithsonian’s traveling museum. I remember four things about going that day:

1. There were more people than I had ever seen in my entire six, five, seven, or four year old life.

2. Kermit the frog was there. I was pretty into the Muppets.

3. An Apollo lunar rover was there. THAT I almost wasn’t able to handle because space travel is awesome.

4. You were there and you were so shiny!

I still don’t think that I’ve seen The Wizard of Oz all the way through, but I always did like Dorothy. Plus, as a girl who likes shoes, you are just magical in your own right, separate from the movie.

In December, you’re going to be up for auction! Too bad I don’t have the two or three million dollars that it will likely take to make you mine. Oh well. Seeing you was enough and I seriously doubt my renters insurance would cover you anyway. I’m sure you’ll be very happy in whatever new home you get.

Love, Amy

