An Open Letter To Young Choi

by Amy Lindorff

Dear Young Choi,

Hi. It’s me, Amy. We met a few hours ago on 3rd and La Brea. You were driving that sweet Benz and I was driving my even sweeter white Hyundai. But now, we are both driving cars that have scratches from that white Camry. I’m sorry you were so scared and I am glad that I was able to stay and run interference between you and those Camry kids while we waited for your husband (and his rather large brother? Who was that guy with your man, anyway?) and the cops to come. And thank go they did come, right? Or the four of us would have been standing there bickering in the hot, hot sun all afternoon. You mentioned that it was your first car accident and I’m so sorry. I remember mine vividly and you are lucky that yours didn’t happen when you were 18 while you were trying to shut up your boyfriend at the time, who was making “funny” animal noises at you (they weren’t funny).

You’re going to be okay, I promise.

Love, Amy

P.S. Wasn’t it fun to see that kid get scolded by the cop about why he should always carry his license??

P.P.S. Your top was super cute, where can I get one just like it?

