An Open Letter To My Old Barbie Roller Skates

by Amy Lindorff

Dear Barbie Roller Skates,

Hey, guys.

These are the same ones, but not my pair.

Haven’t thought about you for a while, but I hope you are still comfortably resting somewhere in my mother’s garage. I still feel bad that I only used you a few times, but we both know that I was not the most coordinated child, so it’s probably for the best. If it makes you feel any better, I thought about you a lot growing up and imagined a world in which I rode you all the time and the whole neighborhood was ridiculously impressed with my skating skills. It’s just that in real life, I spent more time playing with actual Barbies and dressing up for Halloween as “Super Hero Barbie.” If I had been smart, I would have gone for the trifecta and been “Roller Skating Super Hero Barbie.” Now THAT would be a Halloween costume.

Love, Amy

P.S. I hope that your matching elbow and knee pads are still keeping you company.

