An Open Letter To Laura Linney

by Amy Lindorff

Dear Laura,

NICE TRY, LADY.

Saw your little intro clip thing before Sunday night’s Downton Abbey, but try as you might, I will not let you ruin that show for me.

You are not my favorite actress and your presence and yammering on, when all I wanted was to be left in peace with Matthew Crawley, was incredibly annoying. If this is going to be a regular thing, please let me know so that I can be sure to tune in at exactly 9:05 each night and miss you.

I’m sure you mean well and I’m glad that you’re supporting PBS. We all should. If I had the means I would be a member. Those people make Austin City Limits, the greatest show on television (well, the greatest show on television that isn’t Parks and Recreation at least). But why can’t you just let Maggie Smith sub in for you? She’s what we’re all tuning in to see anyway.

Love, Amy

P.S. Totally forgot you were in Love Actually and kissed that guy who played Paulo on Lost. What a fun memory.

