An Open Letter To Portlandia

by Amy Lindorff

Dear Portlandia,

The last two weeks as I have gotten dressed I have thought, ‘should I really be putting on these sandals, given it is January?’ The answer has been yes, because I live in Los Angeles, rather than Portland where it is currently snowing. Thankfully, you have come back for your second season to remind me of home.

I grew up outside of Portland and spent a fair amount of time there over the years. Moving to LA, though sunny and delightful, was definitely an adjustment, especially for my “lily white skin.” The LA bar scene from your season two premiere was exactly right, nailing the contrast between LA and Portland people.

Then there was this week’s episode. I cannot thank you enough for bringing James Callis and Edward James Olmos into the same room for some Battlestar Galactica scenes, even if they were jokes, and even getting Ron Moore in on the fun. Lord how I miss Baltar. Not only do you remind me of the wonderful quirkiness of my home (where it’s totally okay that I drive a Hyundai without automatic windows rather than a shiny new BMW) but you attempt to bring back one of the best TV shows of all time.

I have asked myself Fred and Carrie’s question “Who moves out of Portland?” a million times, and while I have my answers, it’s so much fun to spend a half hour every week remembering how awesome Portland is.

Love, Amy

P.S. While my grandmother has never pickled Band-Aids, she does make a mean pickle and that is one of the things I miss most about being in Oregon.

