An Open Letter To Rashida Jones

by Amy Lindorff

Dear Rashida,

I think you might be the best actress of all time. I realized this on Thursday night, while watching the new episode of Parks and Rec. Here is the text I sent a friend:

Which is crazy. I have watched every episode of Parks a billion times in the last year. It is one of the only shows I watch on actual TV during its actual broadcast time, instead of waiting for it to come on Hulu and I still can’t remember that you’re in it. You are Ann. Rashida Jones ceases to exist in my head. There may also be some residual “why is this lady dating Jim Halpert and I am not?” baggage left over from season three of The Office, but that’s a completely different discussion.

I’ve said it probably hundreds of times before, but Parks really is the best show. I can’t agree more with what The AV Club said “…all the show needs to do to succeed is create that swelling feeling in your heart that comes when you round the corner and head for home, the sense that everything is going to be okay as long as you’re here.” You all do such a great job at that, and you specifically are apparently the best at making me forget reality and the fact that you, Rashida Jones (not Ann), are a working actress. I’ll try to remember you more in the future.

Love, Amy

P.S. I apologize for anything I ever said about your bangs when you were on The Office.

