An Open Letter To The Blankets And Pillows Of My Bed

by Amy Lindorff

Dear Blankets and Pillows Of My Bed,

You didn’t do anything wrong. Please don’t think that I am ungrateful for all the good work you do. In fact, you’re doing everything right.

I feel a deep sense of betrayal every morning when I get up. I feel you saying softly to me, “but Amy – we just want to keep you warm and safe. You don’t need to run. You don’t need to go out and write and see the world and live your life. You just need to stay here – warm and cozy in our tender embrace.”

I couldn’t agree more you guys. All I want is to stay snuggled up forever. But there’s a whole world outside that you don’t even know about. Mostly, it makes me want to stay with you longer (and as you well know there are days that I do) but as much as I love you, you aren’t very interesting to talk to and you don’t pay me much money. I have to go out and live life.

But it’s you who I always come back to. Every night we cozy up and do the newest NYT crossword from the app I spent a whole iTunes gift card on (WORTH IT) and it’s my favorite part of the day. If that world outside didn’t exist I would happily spend 24 hours a day with you. But it does, so I can’t and I’d like to thing that our time apart makes our time together even more special.

Love, Amy

