An Open Letter To Television

by Amy Lindorff

Dear Television,

You know I love you. That hasn’t been an issue between us since I was in eighth grade and won my 13” telelvision in the magazine sale. Starting then it was That 70’s show reruns on The WB, Gilmore Girls, Everwood, and even the occasional One Tree Hill. There was even a brief period of time where my afternoons were spent watching The People’s Court. Less embarrassingly, it was on that television that I happened across the third season of Arrested Development, despite Fox’s best efforts to hide that show from anyone who wanted to watch it. I promptly went out and bought seasons one and two and watched them on a loop for probably four years. It was that show that really brought my love for you to a whole new level.

But now we are at an interested place in our relationship. We still love each other very much and over the last few years have explored new kinds of things. Things like Dancing with the Stars, and other things that one of my friends (who is at a similar place in his relationship with you) calls “the shitty shows”). But I’m okay with it. Whatever it takes for our love to stay strong. However, this is starting to take its toll. My Hulu queue is regularly at 12 episodes, and this doesn’t even include all the HBO and AMC shows I have to get creative to watch.

Television my dear, you have too many great things going on. Let’s review:

ABC – Happy Endings is done for now, but there’s still plenty to watch. Right now there’s DWTS, and Modern Family. Soon there will also be Duets (yeah, I’m definitely going to watch a show where Kelly Clarkson sings all the time) and The Bachelorette. I need to double check but it’s possible that both of these are going to be two hours a week. NBC – This is a big one. Smash, Parks and Recreation, 30 Rock, Community, Best Friends Forever (I STILL BELIEVE), Awake. FOX – Masterchef is starting up soon. That’s a two night extravaganza. CBS – thankfully there is nothing on this channel I’m interested in. Which just leaves AMC’s Mad Men and HBO’s Girls, and Veep.

Add to this The Daily Show, and Battleground, a Hulu original series that is surprisingly delightful and fun, featuring that guy from the Kay Jeweler commercials, the fact that I simply must rewatch all of Arrested Development for reasons that should be obvious to the entire television watching population of earth, and the news I got last night that I will soon be tearing through The Sopranos with a friend and I’m starting to feel a bit overwhelmed.

I really, really love you. I do. But you are asking a little too much of me. A relationship is all about give and take and right now you are both giving me too much amazing programming and taking too much of my time. We’ve got to figure out this balance ASAP because I’m losing my mind.

Next week I’m likely going to be starting full time work and then next weekend I’m going on an airplane trip. If we don’t get things settled before then, that Hulu queue might hit more than 20 episodes and we might not be able to save our love. If you have any ideas on how to solve this problem please let me know. We’ve invested too much in each other to give up now.

Love Amy

