An Open Letter to Season Four of the Television Show “Girls”

by Amy Lindorff

Dear Season Four of Girls,

How are you? No, really? Are you good? I just remembered that I watched the first eight minutes of you in bed an hour ago, while eating dinner. (Is eating a whole box of Annie’s Pizza Rolls dinner? I don’t know, I’m not in charge. But aren’t you proud of me that I didn’t order a family dinner portion of sushi on GrubHub as previously threatened?!)

Then I put my dirty plate in the kitchen sink and only just now realized I was in the middle of a TV show. I even took out the trash AND the recycling before I remembered about you. Probably you’re still there in the bedroom, waiting for the Apple TV screensaver to go away so you can start up again, but ugh, are you even worth it? I have a lot in my TV queue right now and also I just figured out how to work my sewing machine, so, I dunno.

Maybe the time isn’t right, but our paths will cross again in the future. Maybe by then I will remember what was going on with Jessa and that old lady. Let’s not force our relationship; things are best when they happen naturally, right?

Love,

Amy

